Outdoor Living…Emphasis on “Living”

I am glad to know that we now can count two of the luckiest, most grateful, people on the planet as Archadeck of Central Iowa clients.  We hope that rubs off on us.

As reported on KCCI  TV 8, a lighting strike Sunday evening caused a fire at an Adel home, resulting in a complete loss of the home.  It was home to Archadeck clients, Larry and Sandy Schmitz, for whom we just recently completed a project.  The project involved re-decking their existing deck with TimberTech Twin Finish decking, adding TimberTech’s DeckLite system to the railing and installing DrySnap underdecking under their deck and screen porch areas to enhance and expand their use and enjoyment of the patio below.  They had future plans for a spiral staircase, a new patio and an outdoor kitchen. The Schmitz have a beautiful backyard setting above the golf course, north of Adel.  I’d show pictures of the dramatic improvements made to their outdoor living spaces but…I hadn’t gotten there yet for that photo shoot.

And if I went today…dramatic, but in a whole different sense.  The video story on KCCI’s web site says it all.

Sandy and Larry came into our Urbandale office/showroom early this morning…already chasing the insurance claim trail.  I am glad to report that they are as upbeat and positive – and grateful – as ever.  Very inspirational.  Even after listening to their stories, I’m not sure I can really grasp how surreal it must be to be woken by firefighters in full gear in the middle of the night in a smoke-filled home….who’s burning roof collapsed seconds later.   I’ll admit…I’m not a real touchy, feely, guy…my wife says I’m kinda cold, actually.  So, I don’t hug many of our clients, regardless of how well we’ve gotten to know/like each other over the course of our Archadeck projects with them.  But, I did today.

Thank you, Sandy and Larry, for the inspiration and the reminder that life, itself, is the most precious thing we have.  Good luck getting re-established; our thoughts and prayers go out to you.

Leave a Reply

