The First Deck Party, 2010 Edition

I ventured into “social media” late in 2009 and started this blogging thing about a year ago.  My very first blog post occurred here on November 6th, 2009.  This outdoor living business I’m in does have its seasonal cycles.  As my most recent post – nearly a year later to the day – states, that doesn’t mean we close up the deck building shop for the Winter.  But, as I’ve blogged about decks and porches and multi-season rooms and patios and Des Moines and Miss USA and Green Beer now for the past year, one thought consistently flashed thru my mind:  What am I going to say the next time the seasons cycle around?  Now I find myself back at Thanksgiving again (so soon?!?!?!?) and the dilemma is staring straight back at me, taunting me:  “What are you going to say now, Mr. Outdoor Living Space Blogger?”

The first thing I am going to say is “Happy Thanksgiving!”  And, yes, I did say that last year.

Thanksgivng Turkey

The second thing I am going to say is that what I wrote in regard to Thanksgiving last year was pretty darn good and I think most of it is worth repeating (either that, or I’m just being bluntly honest and not even pretending to be creative on this one), so:

Over the coming days, I hope you find many opportunities to be thankful for, and share in, the many blessings you have.  If you’re like me, too many days go by when we take all we have for granted.  “All” being a relative term.  Too often we forget the journey we took to get here and the people who helped us and traveled with us.  To some extent it’s a shame that it takes a national holiday and big parades and big football games and big turkeys to remind us of this.  On the other hand, its important enough to deserve all that.  Thanks to our pilgrim ancestors for starting this tradition!

Of the memories I have (left) of learning about the pilgrims and the first Thanksgiving, it seems all the pictures depicted them sitting and gathering and feasting…outdoors.  On big, wooden tables and benches cut from trees just days before.  The original outdoor furniture! Food cooked over the open flame of a fire pit.  The original outdoor firepit!  (2010 revision:  or outdoor kitchen) Maybe, the first Thanksgiving was…the first Deck Party?

See…for all you that missed it the first time around…that was pretty good wasn’t it?

Deck & Patio Design (a forthcoming "winter-build" project)

The third thing I’m going to say is that I’m not just going to follow this lame strategy for the rest of the coming year.  For every blog I did write, I had 3 or 4 ideas for other patio, porch and pergola type of subjects….time just didn’t allow it.  Of course, I’ve forgotten all those now…but they’ll come back.  Along with new ones.  This business of designing and building spaces and rooms and accessories for outdoor living is surprisingly full of challenges and changes…believe me, there is plenty new coming down the pike.  I’ve seen deck boards with colors called Pacific Teak and (my favorite) Spiced Rum.  So, stay tuned.  I promise to not make it seem like Ground Hog Year.

Lastly, I want to thank those of you who follow and read this and encourage you to continue and pass it along to others who might have an interest.  I don’t know who you are but you are a growing crowd.  In its first month, November 2009, this Outdoor Living Space blog site was viewed a whopping total of 76 times.  This past September, this space about decks and porches in the Des Moines area was viewed nearly 800 times…over a 10-fold increase!  This tells me “outdoor living” does have an audience.  And it puts the heat on me (and Archadeck) to keep doing it right…fresh…interesting.  Which is the same way we approach the design and construction of your outdoor living spaces.  As we’ve become fond of saying this past year, we design and build outdoor living spaces that include virtually anything under the sun.  An old song, made fresh again by Eddie Vedder of Pearl Jam, in the soundtrack of the movie “Into The Wild,” comes to mind:  Big Hard Sun.  Its a big, a big hard sun.  Beating on the big people.  In the big hard world. 

Have a Happy Thanksgiving!  And, thanks for being one of the big hard people sharing this outdoor living space – under the big hard sun –  with me.

Leave a Reply

